shape
carat
color
clarity

in search of my dream sapphire

slksapphire

Shiny_Rock
hello, all,

this is my first post. i have been reading up on everything i can find about sapphires as i will be buying one to set in a ring in celebration of my 10th anniversary.

i am a jewelry novice so i am pretty sure i will be buying from an established jeweler where i live (in hong kong). i have looked at a handful of sapphires in person and frankly, they all looked pretty amazing to me. i am still trying to figure out what i want but here are the broad parameters:

1. color - i think what i like is best described as vivid royal blue
2. cut (shape) - undecided but leaning toward cushion; would consider "fat" oval and emerald
3. clarity - at least eye clean
4. carat - 5-7 carats

my biggest questions:
1. heated vs. unheated (hence the large carat range above and price range below). my gut is telling me unheated ... i want a piece that i love to wear, but i also want it to be a good long-term value that i could pass down one day.
2. origin - does origin really matter IF the stone checks out in terms of color, clarity, brilliance, etc? i saw a stone from madagascar that looked really beautiful as well as some that had "origin unknown"
3. clarity - is loupe clean vs eye clean an important factor?
4. cut - how do i find "ideal" measurements (depth, etc) for cushion, emerald and oval cuts?
5. all the stones i've seen have certificates from different organizations but none had an AGL prestige. should i demand this given what i am looking for and the fact that i am a novice?

my budget is in the US$30,000-50,000 range for the completed ring though the setting won't be too expensive -- probably micropave or simple side stones.

are there any other important questions i should be asking in my search?