shape
carat
color
clarity

ice blue sapphire

tlayton

Rough_Rock
Hi there;

This is my first post so I am a newbie! I am looking for an emerald or radiant cut ice blue sapphire. I am thinking in the size range of 8mmx6.5 mm give or take, and I prefer rectangular shapes but would consider more square. I would prefer a stone located in Canada as that I where I am...

Does anyone have advice about buying this type of stone and what I should be looking for? I found a beautiful one that I love, but the jeweler told me it is likely heat treated, as they assume all of their sapphires are. It is about $1200 CAD (7.3mmx7mm and 2.3 carats) I also found one on the natural sapphire company website that I love but it is a bit too small (7.6mm x 5mm 1.37 carats) for about $1000 USD, but I like that is natural and not heat treated... should this make a huge difference?

any advice would be great!

Thanks!

Tess

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I know Lisa Elser has a fairly deep inventory and cuts sapphires. I would contact her and ask what she has/can get for you. She is located in Canada and is great and very easy to deal with: Lisa Elser - www.lisaelser.com

tlayton

Rough_Rock
yep I started there!

Thanks!

tlayton

Rough_Rock
These are the two I am looking at. Does anyone have comments?
1) radiant emerald cut 7.6x5.09x 3.9 and 1.4 carats ($1100 USD ish)

2) radiant cut 7.3 x 7 x 4.9 and 2.39 carats (990USD) the natural sapphire company

The first one is heat treated likely, and the second one is natural...

img_8748.jpg

certified-natural-untreated-ceylon-radiant-iceblue-sapphire-1_3700-cts-u4260-1-full.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The "problem" with icy (light and pale) gems like these is that they don't look like all the time or even most of the time. Have you seen any in person? Just want to make sure you are aware of this.

tlayton

Rough_Rock
Chrono|1437676552|3906606 said: