shape
carat
color
clarity

Why don't you reply?

AprilBaby

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have noticed several threads asking simple questions that have almost 100 views but no replies. If I were a newbie I would think us unfriendly or I asked a dumb question. Most of those I refer to ask questions any of us could answer. I admit to not being anywhere near an expert but I like to try just so they get SOME answer.

AprilBaby

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
So far 11 views and no responses....showing my point....

TooPatient

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I usually don't reply to questions if I don't think I have much to add. If it is an area I'm not an expert at or if half a dozen other people have already shared the same opinion I would it just feels like I may as well not reply rather than clutter up the thread.

Goofy! I know that doesn't make any sense, but there you go.

I'll try to keep this in mind when I see stuff. I certainly don't want new people to think of this group as unfriendly!

ETA: If it is a particularly interesting/challenging question or situation I often read it and then come back later to reply. Sometimes I even read it multiple times before replying. I like to take the time to really think about the question/situation and give the most thoughtful answer I can manage.

ETA 2: Sometimes I'll see that other people have replied since I read the thread or posted a reply so I'll go back in to see what others are saying on the subject. I don't always post another reply, but the "number of views" increases each time.

SB621

Ideal_Rock
1- I have nothing to add
2- I can't answer the question
3- It is a question I have already answered more times then I care to admit
4- I just don't have time, I work during the day so my posting time is limited
5-Do I have a vested interest in the topic?

Mayk

Ideal_Rock
Premium