shape
carat
color
clarity

Which cut score is more reliable?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sfu88

Rough_Rock
Hi Scopers,

I am a newbie and wondering if any of you can help me with my question. I have come across a diamond with GIA cut graded excellent (new cert). When I run the parameters against the HCA, the result was dramatically different (HCA of 4.6). I understand HCA is not a definitive tool for Cut grading but I would imagine the result would be fairly similar to what GIA would have said; however, in this case it is not. Understanding GIA has spent so much resource on cut research I tended to have a lot faith in their new cut grading. However, whenever there is contradiction you''ve got to doubt if your original thought was correct or not. Can anyone give me some advice? Is this a good stone? My sense is that with a total depth of 62.1% it would probably should be considered as too deeply cut.. But the GIA cut grade "excellent" is putting me into puzzle and confusion....

I think this issue must have arised numerous times since the introduction of the GIA cut grade...

Carat : 1.58 D VS1
Table : 55%
Crown Angle : 34.5%
Pav Angle : 41.4%
Star% : 50%
Lower half % : 80%
Girdle min : Thin
Girdle max : Med
Cutlet : None
Polish/ Symmetry : Ex/Ex
Total Depth : 62.1%

Thanks for your comment.

Stephen Fu

esguy27

Shiny_Rock
This may be a dumb question, but what type of stone is this? I think the HCA only works for round diamonds.

Paul-Antwerp

Ideal_Rock
Trade
It is exactly the kind of GIA-Excellent, that I warned for months ago. I personally foresee that you will see many like these being cut. The new GIA-system is extremely forgiving towards one side, where cutters can maintain the highest weight.

A simple check on the HCA shows that this stone''s light performance is far from excellent, and no extra measurements of lower girdle facets or star sizes can change that.