shape
carat
color
clarity

Virtual Loop Opinion on This JA Stone (Have it on hold)

drewsah

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

First, I want to say how thankful I am that this site and its community exists. I am BRAND NEW to this and have been lurking/reading/researching on here and around the web for months in anticipation of making my engagement ring purchase. Time is running short and I am thinking of making a purchase today:

http://www.jamesallen.com/diamonds/I-SI1-Excellent-Cut-Round-Diamond-1497444.asp

It is a 1.22 round I color SI1, excellent cut from James Allen. To my very untrained eye, it looks clean VIA their Virtual loop and trying to go off of the GIA report. Would be incredibly appreciative if anyone with a more trained eye could take a look and give me the confidence that it would be eye-clean and to pull the trigger... (I know I have a 60 day return policy, but... who wants to deal with that :). The price would be about $6700 after pricescope discount.

One other question. Would you recommend purchasing just the stone and inspecting it first before getting it set, or should I do the whole process now (stone, setting) all in the same purchase?

I hope that one day I will actually be able to contribute some knowledge to these forums based on this experience, but for now I'll keep my yap shut and just ask questions/learn =)

Thanks!

TitanCi

Brilliant_Rock
Looks pretty clean to me, face up. I *think* I saw the inclusion at the center of the table (under the table reflection, slightly at 3) and one more at 5, but that's about it. In the real world, I don't think you'll be able to see it at all. This is a very magnified view, and the feathers don't look like they're of any concern...

I'd ask them for an Idealscope image next before you buy it. Just to make sure it returns the most light; it scores rather decently on the HCA (2.3) so just have some assurance with the IS images.