shape
carat
color
clarity

Update: Good and Bad

Ashley21

Rough_Rock
After talking with BF I know new information which makes me feel better about an upcoming proposal but disappointed and angry at the situation.

After purchasing a setting with BF almost a year and a half ago, I was anticipating a proposal soon. I figured we had a few main events coming up this year: Christmas, New Years, Valentines, my birthday in April, I graduated at the beginning of this May, and our 5 year anniversary was at the end of this May. Sadly enough, each event passed without a proposal.

I was getting a little worried since we had talked about getting married around next summer. After biting my tongue for a month, BF new something was bothering me and asked me to tell him. So I did. He said he was glad I said something because there was an issue.

We purchased the setting and matching band (from Shane Co.) for almost $1000 with tax a year and a half ago. As we are both college students we have a very small budget. We could not afford a diamond either so I suggested a simulant, at least temporarily until we could afford to put a real stone in it.

When I talked to BF this weekend he said he actually purchased **Removed by moderator. No discussion of simulants allowed per PS policies**. He proceeded to take it to Shane Co. to have it set. They said it would be $300 to set it since we didn't get a stone from them and $100 to change the head for a v-prong setting. They also said if we got it set somewhere else, it would void our warranty. Of course, BF did not have that much money in his bank account.