shape
carat
color
clarity

Total newb need help on where to find quality oval aqua...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

btrflygrl23

Brilliant_Rock
Can anyone here help point me in the direction of where I can find a quality loose aquamarine stone. Oval in shape and approximately 6x8mm. I''d really appreciate it. I am totally new to the gemstone arena I have a LOGR setting already to put the stone in hence the somewhat fixed dimensions. Aqua is my birthstone but I''m willing to use another gemstone if anyone has better ideas. I''m going to use this as a RHR and I don''t have any gemstone rings at all.
Thanks

D&T

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
do you have a budget in mind? for something that specific in size, you might want to touch base with one of the cutters Barry at acstones.com or Gary Braun at finewatergems.com or Michael at Gemshoppe.com to see if they have any roughs that can cut to that specific size. or give Gary Dutton at Diamondexpert.com a call to see if he can source you out any.

LtlFirecracker

Ideal_Rock
I was going to suggest that one too.

D&T

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
but do you want aqua? or just the color blue.
I was going to suggest this but it is 5 on the MOH scale. so not ideal for rings, on the ocasional use though... maybe?

http://www.bestcutgems.com/product/IT-356

apatitebluebestgem1.JPG

btrflygrl23

Brilliant_Rock
Thanks D&T!

I don''t have a set budget but I''d like to keep it on the cheaper side. Honestly, I''m not even sure if a bigger stone would fit in the setting I have b/c I''m totally not knowledgeable when it comes to such things this is my 1st foray into this arena.
I have got the same LOGR setting that Tourmalinelover has for her GORGEOUS Cuprian. The double wg/rg halo.
It says that the setting requires a 6x8mm stone so maybe I can go a bit bigger.
I''m going to check out the links you have posted.
Thanks too LtlFirecracker!