shape
carat
color
clarity

This Husband needs Help!

DavidGD

Rough_Rock
Hi - I’d like to get my wife (32yrs old) her first real pearl necklace and matching earrings. I’ve been doing research for two months now and I’ve decided on 7.5-8mm Akoya pearls with white/silver tones.
Now the issue. This whole non-standard grading and massive variance in pricing has got me frozen.
I don’t know who to trust or where to buy from. I’ve looked at all the big sites, Pearls of Joy, PurePearls, Pearl Paradise and American Pearls. Right now it seems like the first three all are about the same price, American is about double. Oh, I’m looking at AAA rated ones. I can’t afford the ones from Mikimoto, but I want to make sure for her first real set she gets ones that are good quality and beautiful.
Can anymore point me in the right direction? I’d like to buy them before Christmas.
Sincerely, David

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
I've bought from the first three you mentioned and found them all to be trustworthy etc. Pearl Paradise is the largest of them so they may have more in stock.

AAA is a solid choice because it's high quality without paying the extra for the hanadama certification.

You could just order and return if not to your liking or ask them to email you photos of a few different strands to choose from first. If you request photos, feel free to post them here if you want for some of the pearly ladies to weigh in on. I personally have a hard time discerning differences in luster from photos but some of us here have a great eye for it.

A few more things to consider: