shape
carat
color
clarity

Skin Reactions to Metals

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

krispi

Shiny_Rock
I have a bad problem with yellow gold turning my skin black. I used to wear only yellow gold years ago, but over time my rings started turning my fingers black, and the problem got worse with time. I cleaned my rings and even took them to the jewler for a professional cleaning, but that didn''t help. It only takes a few hours for the black coloration to appear, even on rings that have just been cleaned. I don''t wear lotion on a daily basis, so I don''t think they''re reacting with anything other than my skin. It got to be so embarassing that I have stopped wearing yellow gold altogether. I have several sterling silver and platinum rings that I can wear with no problems, so that is what I have been wearing exclusively for the past several years. I have never purchased any white gold jewelry - when I spoke to the jeweler about my problem with yellow gold, they mentioned that people who are sensitive to metals tend to have even worse reactions to white gold than yellow. They advised me to wear platinum, since it is hypo allergenic.

The problem is that I have a few yellow gold pieces that I no longer wear. They aren''t particularly sentimental or valuable, but I wouldn''t mind having them redone in a way that I could use them every now and then. I''ve been researching having them rhodium plated. I understand that it''s not a permanent solution and would have to be redone every so often, but cost-wise, it''s a lot more of a possibility than having them reset in platinum. Besides, the gemstones are pretty low grade, so I would prefer to reserve platinum for something more valuable. I wouldn''t wear them on a daily basis, so hopefully the plating would last a bit longer.