shape
carat
color
clarity

Should I exchange my G-colored Pear Shaped diamond for F?

cloudkicker3030

Rough_Rock
hey guys i know there's been this topic a million times.. but i'm new to this whole thing and i need a decision FAST as i'm planning to propose on the 9th of November next next weekend and still need the ring to be made.

i purchased this diamond here:
http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/pear-shaped/1.01-carat-g-color-si2-clarity-sku-200189
GIA-Graded, G color- excellent polish, VG symmety

I love how sparkly, shimmery this diamond is.. but I compared it to my mothers "F" colored EGL diamond.. and even with the looser grading from EGL.. i can't help but notice how much whiter it is.. (it's a classic round shaped diamond)

i read that pear shapes the color matters more than other shapes...... and I can only really afford maybe one color grade higher.. (i'm already over my budget).. does anyone with experience with pear shapes think I'll honestly be able to see the difference with the F-colored diamond? If so.. i was thinking of getting this one: http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/pear-shaped/0.96-carat-f-color-vs2-clarity-sku-176364

but i dont like how big the table is and i'm just stressed out because i really need to decide soon.. any help or suggestions and i would be utmost appreciated... i would hate to return this ring just to find out i can't even tell the darn difference.....and i can't help but see my diamond as yellow now, now that i've compared it to my mom's diamond.....

Candygrl

Brilliant_Rock
Re: Should I exchange my G-colored Pear Shaped diamond for F

I am no expert but I think a G is a nice color for a pear. I have a pear that is a G and I never notice any color. I have an I RB and I only notice a tiny tiny hint of color on a very rare occasion. I would not trade in the diamond you already have. I would rather have the slightly bigger G than a smaller F. Good luck whatever you decide.

cloudkicker3030

Rough_Rock