shape
carat
color
clarity

Ring theft - any legal recourse here?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

George K

Rough_Rock
Hello all, I''m a noob here, and I was pointed to this forum by someone on a non-diamond related forum. He suggested that all of you may have some ideas on my situation. Here''s the story:

Last August, when I was on vacation up in our vacation home in Wisconsin, our cleaning service came to clean the house (they come once a month). My wife had left her wedding ring (with attached diamond) and a ring from her mother (also with attached diamong) on the counter in the bathroom the night before. I did not watch the cleaning service, for I was in another room.

That afternoon, when my wife wanted to go shopping she saw that the rings were gone. We searched the house frantically, with no luck. We can only assume that one of the ladies who was there that day pocketed the rings and left. No one else was in the house (other than family) for the entire duration of my vacation. The rings'' value is about $10,000. We did not have a rider on our homeowners policy.

We filed a police report about a month later. A very polite officer took our statements and started the investigation. He searched the homes of the ladies who worked for the cleaning service (one of whom had been either fired or quit) with no luck either.

About 2 months later, my wife was told that since the service is insured, bonded, etc, they would cover replacement costs of the rings. Today, she was told that, since the policeman had not found the rings, no reimbursement would be forthcoming.

Basically it comes down to my word vs. the service, I guess. Do I have any recourse here, or am I SOL?

TIA for the advice.

George

diamondlil

Ideal_Rock
Do you have insurance for the rings on your home owner''s policy?

perry

Ideal_Rock
Premium