shape
carat
color
clarity

Registry Etiquette

sweetpea&babycorn

Brilliant_Rock
Hey all, sorry i have been MIA! School + wedding + house = busy spbc!

Anyway, speaking of wedding, we are about 8 months out and FI (Ben) and I have just started talking about our registry. We have not done any shopping or anything like that, we've just been discussing the logistics behind it.

In any case, we both have different views on registries. My background is Chinese, and traditionally, we usually just give money. Ben hasn't been to many weddings as an adult, and so he's not very familiar with them either. From our experiences of attending 2 weddings together, we have always picked something from the couple's registries. My view on it is that a registry makes it easier for wedding guests to get us a wedding gift if they choose. Everyone has different styles, and a newlyweds are no different. By having a registry, they don't have to think very hard about what they want to get us. This is especially convenient for relatives who we love, but may not know what our style is regarding kitchenware, bedding, etc.

Ben's view is that it's a superficial means of getting gifts from others. He thinks that gifts should be thoughtful and should be something picked out by the guest, and that way it's truly from their heart. I understand where he's coming from, but I think this would be especially difficult for friends and family who don't know our styles well.

So we decided to register for only the things we need - kitchenware and bedding. This will probably total less than 50 items, and we're expecting about 130 guests. We decided to link our registry to a local charity so people could donate money there, or they have the option of picking a gift out themselves or giving money (probably most of my side). Would it be better to have no registry at all?