shape
carat
color
clarity

Realistic outlook for soon to be GIA GG Graduate

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

danielh

Rough_Rock
A quick summary,

Im over halfway though the last part of the GIA GG course, colored stones. Should have my degree by March 06.

Have many other GIA certificates Pearl grading, Synthetic diamonds and synthetic moissanite, Gem Id, Color Stone grading, Gem Id, ect... Considering taking the new Pearl certifcate program too.

I have been making jewelry mostly on a hobby basis for over 16 years.

An accident a while back left me disabled , but after 4 spinal , and 6 knee surgeries I am much better and get around very well.

I have no retail working experience in the jewelry trade.

Im in my early 40’s

My wife divorced me after the accident left me disabled, and I would prefer living close enough to still be with my 3 and 5 year old daughters on a regular basis. ( If I could make a decent wage, I would consider moving as I would be able to fly to see them. )

Im a normal looking guy, no GQ cover model that’s for sure,
From what I have been told looks and youth is more important to gaining employment in this industry than actual knowledge and skills.

Here is the question, Im I living in a dream world thinking I will ever find gainful employment in the jewelry trade? Or was this all a waste of time?

Im looking for non PC, just honest truth so I can decide what I should do, or not do? I still plan on finishing my GG degree as I have so much invested into it, and cant afford to do anything else right now.

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
Date: 12/5/2005 7:46:09 PM
Author:danielh

From what I have been told looks and youth is more important to gaining employment in this industry than actual knowledge and skills.

Here is the question, Im I living in a dream world thinking I will ever find gainful employment in the jewelry trade? Or was this all a waste of time?