shape
carat
color
clarity

Questions about Hollaway Cut Advisor (HCA) Score

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

kthan

Rough_Rock
I have one question about HCA score.
I do learn that HCA score is just one of the tool to evaluate the quality of a stone.
We do not know the performance of the stone in polish, symmetry, etc.
However, it seems to be useful to know how well cut a stone is.
Isn''t this better indicator about the quality of cut than AGS cut grade?
(I am a newbie, so pleaes correct me if I am wrong).

Also, I found that, in the same range (ex: HCA 0-2, ,2-4...), we cannot tell
which stone is better performer. But, how about the two stones (HCA 1.0 and HCA 2.4)?
Can I tell HCA 1.0 stone is better than 2.4 for sure?

If i can only access the paper data (Certificate and Sarin Report), can I use HCA as an indicator
to find if a stone seems to be an ideal cut + better performer (in other categories, like polish
and symmetry)?

aljdewey

Ideal_Rock
Date: 9/23/2005 3:33:04 PM
Author:kthan
I have one question about HCA score.
I do learn that HCA score is just one of the tool to evaluate the quality of a stone.
We do not know the performance of the stone in polish, symmetry, etc.
However, it seems to be useful to know how well cut a stone is.
Isn''t this better indicator about the quality of cut than AGS cut grade?
(I am a newbie, so pleaes correct me if I am wrong).

Also, I found that, in the same range (ex: HCA 0-2, ,2-4...), we cannot tell
which stone is better performer. But, how about the two stones (HCA 1.0 and HCA 2.4)?
Can I tell HCA 1.0 stone is better than 2.4 for sure?
No, you can''t. The HCA doesn''t tell "which stone is better". It''s a predictive tool meant to help identify which diamonds have the best chance of being strong performers.