shape
carat
color
clarity

Quarter Life Crisis

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

fabcrab

Brilliant_Rock
Hi everyone,

I recently started a 5 year PhD. program in Chemistry and I feel like I''m going through a huge quarter life crisis. As an undergrad, I graduated with a 4.0 GPA with a B.S. in the most rigorous chemistry degree that was offered. However, I find myself going through some panic attacks (sometimes just mini ones and sometimes pretty bad) ever since I started grad school. I''m taking 3 classes right now and enjoy 2 of them very much but the other class is for the lack of a better word, hell. The professor lacks empathy and seriously does not have a single ounce of talent when it comes to teaching. I have tried to make an effort to learn the material by going to her office hours but she just can''t wait to get rid of me. All she cares about is her research and she for some reason wouldn''t give the correct answers for problem sets provided so I can''t learn from my mistakes without knowing the right way of solving thing. I have mid-terms next week and I feel like I don''t know anything and I''ve never ever beein in this position before. I have never felt such fear of failure in my life and I often look around wondering what I''m doing in a place that I may not belong in. I start thinking of the worst-case scenario of being kicked out due to inadequate grades and causing irreversible damage on my science career. Of course moving to a different city doesn''t help.

If anyone has any advice/ words of wisdom, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for letting me vent.

AmberGretchen

Ideal_Rock