shape
carat
color
clarity

Q&A on some .90 plus carats that are priced really cheap??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

dry201

Rough_Rock
Hi All,

Newbie here looking at purchasing a diamond to have it set on a ring. For the last few days I have been browsing alot of the PS vendors & have come across a few loose .90 - 1.0 diamonds that are priced under $1100 dollars. Some have been F colors but with a clarity of Si3 & i1, i2s. Should they be priced that low or did the vendor just priced them incorrectly?? Thanks!

mrmedoes

Shiny_Rock
Keep in mind that there is a lot more to diamonds than just size. You didn''t mention the shape and any cut characteristics. A quick search in a completely unscientific way showed a few .85ish, G/SI2 for under $2,000, so I''m sure if you''re getting into the I clarity grades (SI3, IMO is a nice way to say I1) that it could be right. Keep in mind that you may be getting a non-ideal. cut diamond or something that is at least far from ideal in terms of many things that people around here look for in terms of a diamond. For many people this is fine, but be careful in what you''re buying. Most PS vendors seem to be quite helpful and nice, but you never can be too sure, so be sure to get all the specs that you can before jumping in. You''d be shocked to see what some smart shoppers with a little knowledge can find in some of the sub-1 carat stones. Good luck.

dry201

Rough_Rock
I was looking at the round cut diamonds.
Here''s an example that I just copied from a PS search:

K
I1
62% depth
58% table
EGL
vtn-m
no
gd
gd
no
6.19*6.26*3.85
PS Vendor price $1100

mrmedoes

Shiny_Rock