shape
carat
color
clarity

Purple sapphire from Dana - how to set it?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
Hi Everyone,

Here is my newish 7mm round sapphire from Mastercutgems. This is a beauty. The color and sparkle are amazing. The sapphire''s cut is creative, it is included and has a tilt window. But man, when it hits the light, this is just an amazing sapphire. What I really like is that it has a color shift with sky blue, bluish purple and pink flashes in daylight. In incandescent light I see purple, reddish purple and... orange flashes.

mcg_purple_close.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
I was hoping to have this one set locally, but I just got back a quote that is too high to even think of
7.gif

mcg_purple_closeupsidedown.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
So what do you think of this? I got the gold ring from my Mom when I graduated High School, it belonged to my great grandfather. I never wore it because it''s set with two diamonds that don''t sparkle at all and a tiny white opal.

Do you think I could set this sapphire in this ring? What do you think about the rich yellow gold with the purple? Will it affect the color shift?

mcg_purple_close_wring.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
Here is the "sparkle pattern."

mcg_purple_close_floodlight.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
Another with the ring.

mcg_purple_close_wring_handshot.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
I wish I could get better pictures, I don''t think these show the beauty of the stone, but maybe when I get it set. The different flashes of color are fascinating.

mcg_purple_close_handshot.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
So, any setting ideas are welcome :)

mcg_purple_close_side.JPG

mariedtiger

Brilliant_Rock
I had to upload this picture. Do you ever have WHOOPS moments like this? I''m just glad this one ended well.

whoops_moment.JPG

brandy_z28

Brilliant_Rock
Date: 12/7/2009 12:11:38 PM