shape
carat
color
clarity

Pregnancy and alcohol

wolftress

Brilliant_Rock
Did/Would you drink a moderate (1 to 3 glasses of wine per week) amount of alcohol while pregnant?

Were you advised about alcohol consumption by your doctor?

All the research I''ve done seems to be conflicting, and there was an article in the local paper recently about how there is a real need for studies into moderate alcohol consumption during pregnancy. We all know ''getting drunk'' is a no-no when pregnant, but what about drinking small amounts of a regular basis?

I love red wine and currently drink about 1/2 a glass a day with dinner, and would like to know if I can continue to do this when I''m pregnant.

marcy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have always heard it is bad to drink alcohol when you are pregnant. I have no personal experience with it though.

fieryred33143

Ideal_Rock
1/2 a glass of wine is ok. I probably wouldn''t do it during 1st tri and probably not every day. Talk to your OB to get a feel for what his/her preference is. My OB didn''t mind. I don''t drink regularly so I didn''t drink at all during my pregnancy.

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
My OB didn''t advise FOR drinking but when I told her I wanted to drink a little sangria in Spain she was like..it''s all about moderation. I am not a drinker anyway so I didn''t really drink at all except for a few instances here and there.

On the otherhand, my friend''s OB told her it was fine to have a beer a night while pregnant. Also my OB before the one I had most of my preg told me not to drink at all really.

It really depends on the OB and your comfort level. What my OB told me is that there is really not enough research to say YES ITS FINE and I imagine no hospital/doctor wants to be in that position to say that and then get sued later if something happens.