shape
carat
color
clarity

Please help me Identify...Paraiba Tourmaline?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I bought this today from a vendor at a local show. She said it was tourmaline....The second I saw it I thought Paraiba Tourmaline and snagged it.
I RI'd it and it is in line with PT....but I want second oppinions sence I am not an expert at all with identifying them. The RI is 1.628.
It doesnt look like a topaz (that is my 2nd thought), as it is more neon greenishblue then sky blue.

It is about .3 cts (I dont have a scale, just an estimate). It is about an SI1-SI2 stone.

What do you think? It has a hint more blue/green IRL then in the picture.

paraibaKS0019.JPG

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Another pic

PTKSS00099.jpg

y2kitty

Brilliant_Rock
I really like it, very cool color, but I don''t know anything about tourmalines.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The RI is correct for Tourmaline but it doesn''t really have the neon quality of a Paraiba Tourmaline (and also, unless you know the chemical makeup of the gemstone then you wouldn''t be able to call it "Paraiba" anyway).

It actually looks like an Apatite to me but that would have an RI of 1.642.

It''s so small that I wouldn''t worry what it was but just enjoy it as it''s very pretty.

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
It has more neon blue/green look in person. I hate how cameras always leave out the most important parts LOL. I am holding it up to the screen now and it is an obvious difference. Thats what made me spot it. I also got a deeper blue tourmaline (.5ct), a Chrome Diopside (.5ct), and a couple citrines (1-3cts) and paridots (.5-2cts) while there.

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
My Blue and pink tourmalines I bought today, and my Chrome Diopside.

tourmKS888.JPG

jstarfireb

Ideal_Rock
Can''t help with the Paraiba question, but it sure is pretty!

haagen_dazs

Brilliant_Rock
Date: 11/14/2009 12:29:03 PM