shape
carat
color
clarity

please help educate me!!!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jpermenter

Rough_Rock
I am about to purchase an engagement ring and I need everyone''s expert opinions, I dont know much about diamonds. would everyone please help me out on what makes a good looking diamond. I want a princess cut around 1ct. What I dont know is what difference symmetry, cutlet, girdle, polish, table, depth, fluorescence makes. any help would be great!
I am looking at something like this....I could go a little higher on the price if it would be a better looking diamond....thanks
Item Code: 9056393
Price: $3,748.00
Report: GIA
Shape: Princess
Carat: 1.01
Color: H
Clarity: VS1
Depth: 73.4
Table: 71
Girdle: TN-TK
Polish: Very Good
Symmetry: Good
Culet: None
Fluorescence: No
Measurements: 5.80-5.52X4.05
Length/Width: 1.05

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Sure enough, this is just my hunch and I am not an expert despite spending more posts on this forum than I want to admit.
40.gif

Around i carat or so, color and clarity I/SI1 and above are all equally safe bet to me, and those make about 30% of the total effect.

Cut makes the rest. And that gets tricky because the stats available on a GIA report don''t say much at all about brilliance.

Some very extreme faults of cut appear in the scarce data there (say, depth below 55% or above 80%, tables above 80%.. very thing or extremely thin girdles, very rectangular shape ..., ''fair'' symmetry).

I would definitely insist on having some way to compare this stone with others for brilliance - but that either takes cut grading (comparison with a usually proprietary standard that comes at a premium) or quite a bit of self confidence and time learning what to look for.