shape
carat
color
clarity

PhD / doctoral student stress - help :(

PastryGirl

Shiny_Rock
Hi all,

I know there are some members here on PS that have PhDs. How did you all deal with the stress? I am close to getting out of my program... for some reason, this semester has ruined my mental health, and I don't know what to do. I have severe anxiety and feel myself spiraling. I meet all the clinical requirements for PTSD. How could this happen from one stupid course?

I am open to any and all suggestions, advice, and pretty much anything anyone has to offer. I cannot go on like this. I don't want to drop out, but I don't know if I can make it through the semester. If I don't finish this course, I will be set back a year. I'm on track to defend next spring and want to get the hell out.

Thank you. <3

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
I’m a professor at a well-respected research institution and I have been supervising PhD students for about 10 years. If my student came to me and said what you wrote here I would tell them that a degree is not worth your mental health and that there are many interesting career options for people with MSc degrees in our field. I would tell them that there is no shame in withdrawing from a program and that it is not failure to change your mind. I would say that if they need it, they have my permission to leave and I will support them and help them figure out their next steps. I have had this conversation with two students, once initiated by me after I watched them wilt over the course of six months and once initiated by the student. Both are eminently happy in their careers and have no regrets.

PinkAndBlueBling

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
First, deep breath. The stress can be horrible. What is so stressful, exactly? Load, peers, professors, your field in general? Let's start with that. You don't need a program to ruin your mental health, so examine what is causing the stress in order to take any further steps. Also, is a PhD necessary?