shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie with colored stone question

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

azprisoncop

Rough_Rock
Hi there everyone .........I am new to this forum as I''ve stated in the subject line and I am a huge fan of colored gemstones. Nothing against diamonds, they are most beautiful but I just love, love LOOOOVVVVVVVVVVEEEEE color.
I am a novice in the field and have three questions in reference some jewelry that I have.

I own a green tourmaline ring I am thinking the tourmaline is about 4 carats, which was given to me by my deceased brother. I wore the ring to death because I simply didn''t want to remove it from my finger because it was from my brother. The tourmaline is in an emerald cut and with my wearing it do death, I scuffed the upper edges a bit. Is it possible to get this polished out or cut so that the scuff marks will be gone and who would do this ? I have yet to find a gem cutter or even an appraiser in my area in Arizona.

Second question...I have a pair of beautiful dangle earrings with aqua, tsavorite and supposedly the pear shaped stone is tsavorite also...that would be a HUGE tsavorite. How can one tell whether one has indeed a tsavorite or a chrome diopside since the color of both can be so very similar ?