shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie question(S)..

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

DND168

Rough_Rock
Greetings all.
emsmile.gif

Let me first start of by saying prior to lurking around this site, I have no knowledge of diamonds other than the basic 4 C''s, but I would say I am in a better position now after reading and learning a lot from the members of the forum. Very very imformative site.
Okay, I just have a few questions:

1) While in the market for a engagment ring, I found that most stones I saw were GIA certifiied, but have since learned that it is better to buy a AGS stone because I dont have to request an additonal Sarin report in order to get all the measurements of the stone? Would you agree?

2)can a stone be certified by both labs?
3) Does the date of certifcation affect price of the stone? (I saw 2 similiar stone, one was newer than the other, but considerably a big price difference)

I am trying to understand the AGS000 grading. To get the most "fire" out of a diamond, one would have to search for a Table % of 53-58 and a total depth of 58-62.3%. Can a stone containing a 58% table and 58% depth still be a 0 rated stone? In other words, any stone that falls within the given range will be a good stone right?
Lastly, a Class1A ags stone gets more into specifics with crown height, angle, pavilion and so on... do they have to fall into that range as well for a stone to be perfect( reason i ask is because when you do a stone search on Pricescope, it does ask you about these ranges, it only requires you to input table and depth %)

Sorry for the amount of questions, but I am trying to get as much info as I can in the amount of time I have...
Any input/comments would be much appreciated. Thanks for reading!

Regular Guy

Ideal_Rock

Sorry for the amount of questions, but I am trying to get as much info as I can in the amount of time I have...
That''s so really what it''s about, isn''t it?