shape
carat
color
clarity

New to gemstones..Ceylon sapphire advice

steaktacos1

Rough_Rock
Hi all. New to price scope but so grateful for this amazing resource!
I am having my engagement ring reset and wanted to use the old setting for a Ceylon sapphire. 78314FFD-E838-4F77-B01B-BA0FC610CCF2.jpeg The jeweler I took my setting to happened to have a Ceylon sapphire-pictured above. he said he would set it into my ring for $400 total. My ring is a halo made for a 0.6 carat stone. I’m brand new to gemstones so I’m wondering if this sounds reasonable, or if you think otherwise. I attached a photo of the sapphire and setting. It has to be cut to fit the ring. I’m also wondering how I would know if it’s real or worth buying...he said it was a natural sapphire and he’s a reputable local jeweler. Thanks for any and all advice

Attachments

• E97F6CAD-F7AE-40F7-AA59-4D0FDAA2150C.jpeg
    E97F6CAD-F7AE-40F7-AA59-4D0FDAA2150C.jpeg
    317.3 KB · Views: 11

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
My jeweller charges me around $200 to set my gemstones into existing settings. That’s just for prong work, I’m supplying both the gemstone AND the ring.
So $400 is very cheap to include a natural Ceylon sapphire.
Has the sapphire been subject to any treatments?
Just to expand, there’s natural sapphires with no treatment at all (uncommon and expensive), natural sapphires heat treated (most sapphires) but there’s also natural sapphires that have been beryllium diffused (improves blue colour) and/or flux (glass) filled (fills in the cracks/ fissures turning a very flawed stone into something pretty). These last two types of treatment are not recommended, basically they are valueless gemstones. Better to have an “honest” lab grown sapphire than a highly treated “natural” sapphire.