shape
carat
color
clarity

New Diamond Buyer

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

[email protected]

Rough_Rock
I am a first time diamond buyer (for an engagement ring) and am considering the following two diamonds:

Stone#1 Pear Cut -
1.17 carat
Color: I
Clarity: VS1
Table: 57%
Depth: 58.3%
Measure: 9.2 x 5.8 x 3.4
Medium Blue Flourescence
GIA Cert.
Price: $4,500

Stone #2 Pear Cut
.9 carat
Color: F
Clarity: VVS2
Table: 59%
Depth: 55.4%
Measure: 9.03 x 5.7 x 3.16
No Flourescence
GIA Cert.
Price: $5,000

#1 is clearly the larger stone. Which one is the better value considering that stone #2 has better clarity, is rated colorless and contains no flourescence?

On Stone #2, I believe there is still some negotiating room to bring the price lower.

Thanks,

Kim
1.gif

windowshopper

Ideal_Rock
Hello and welcome- I am not an expert on pears. caveat emptor here...........I also think these are so different that value is tough to compare. However, #1 seems to be a better cut stone at least initial numbers here--the second is too shallow --have you checked out the fancy cut guide up at the top of the page under knowledge????

a couple of comments--i would not personally pay for a VVS stone that is a brilliant cut b/c the inclusions usually are not too evident amidst the faceting .... and the fluor is a cost reducing factor that will add whiteness to that I color...........number #1 is more appealing at this stage. dont know if you can get crown information from them but it helps to provide a mental three dimensional image prior to actually seeing it...

EDIT: fancies like pears, marquises and ovals are VERY subjective (well everything but a round i guess!) so knowing the length to width ratio that pleases your eye is an important first step for you

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium