shape
carat
color
clarity

MOH Speech Help

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Iowa Lizzy

Brilliant_Rock
So I''m the maid of honor at my BFF''s wedding this weekend and I haven''t even started writing the speech!!!!

Of course I kept coming up with ideas for little stories and things to say at random times and I''d think "ooh, that''s a good idea. I should write that down." And of course, I didn''t. I''m just a HUGE procrastinator.

Added to that, I have a mighty big fear of public speaking. Ironic, I have my bachelor''s in Public Relations/Communications. I''ll probably take a Xanax or a beta blocker with a glass of champagne to try to quell those fears. My palms sweat just thinking about it. YIKES!!

My question for you, is this: do you have any pointers for a good MOH speech. Anything from previous speeches you''ve heard that really touched you? I always notice that the Best Man speech kicks the MOH speech''s arse. Why is that?

Help me LIWs (and others!) You always have the bestest advice!!!
2.gif

miss_flo

Shiny_Rock
Hey TG!
35.gif
I always appreciate a speech that appeals to both the bride and groom, because many times I''ve seen best men talk ONLY about their friendship with the groom and vice versa with the MOH/bride. Stories are fun but I''d avoid anything that doesn''t have to do with the couple or getting married. Short and sweet is always the best way to go, and remember: it''s really easy to make people cry at weddings. ;-)

jcarlylew

Ideal_Rock
K.I.S.S. (no, not knights in satan''s service...lol)

Keep It Simple Silly

mine was about 2 minutes long. I thanked everyone for being here, gave a little background info on the friend, then the couple. thanked everyone again, and then wished them the best.

oh, and i was given 2 seconds to prepare... i didnt know i had to give one!!

jjdav

Shiny_Rock
Date: 6/3/2009 5:23:37 PM
Author:Travel Goddess