shape
carat
color
clarity

loose or set diamond first?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ak dia

Rough_Rock
i just received my asccher cut diamond on a single solitaire setting from a supposedly reliable online diamond source. i dont know if its because of the setting or or because of the diamond but it seems a bit crooked.
I am starting to feel a bit weirded out about this.
I am going to send it in to the GIA for verification, but should i get the diamond off the setting first to get a more accurate report? If i do that then i would a)have to return the whole ring to the sender and have them return just the diamond and find a mount and have it set elsewhere b) have that done here in NYC jeweler and risk the possibility that if anything gets altered badly on the setting back i cant return the ring OR the diamond. I'm quite new at this. Please HElp!

jaz464

Ideal_Rock
It is possible that the diamond was simply not set straight. Why do you think that this has anything to do with the diamond''s certification? Just wondering because I don''t see a connection. I would get into contact with the jeweler and tell them the problem. I would take pictures and email them to the jeweler so you can show them just what the problem is. They should not have a problem with resetting it straight for you. This is not a highly unusual problem BTW, so I wouldn''t worry about it too much, though it does kind of stink that you have to send it back. Oh, and they should pay for the shipping IMO.

Mind posting a pic here so we can see the problem?

denverappraiser

Ideal_Rock
Trade