shape
carat
color
clarity

Insurance Before Whiteflash Project? Help Wanted!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

BWise

Brilliant_Rock
I started to contact Whiteflash to have my tsavorite (cut by Gene from PG) set. This is my first project with Whiteflash and they have been very pleasant to work with. When I asked about the process, they told me that I would need to insure the stone before they can start the mounting project.

Has anyone done this before? Can you please share some experience? e.g. which insurance company is good? Thanks in advance for all the advice.
1.gif

Cind11

Brilliant_Rock
Hmm, that is interesting. I had them set my first engagement diamond into a pendant and they did not make me insure it beforehand. I wonder if Chrono had to insure her Mahenge spinel before it was set. I guess I can understand this, but it seems like a little bit of a hassle?

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 3/16/2010 12:55:17 AM
Author: Cind11
Hmm, that is interesting. I had them set my first engagement diamond into a pendant and they did not make me insure it beforehand. I wonder if Chrono had to insure her Mahenge spinel before it was set. I guess I can understand this, but it seems like a little bit of a hassle?
I also think that's rather odd, and adds to the expensive of something that's already expensive. My jeweler doesn't make me insure my stones before I have them set it. I also never heard Chrono once mention insurance when she was having her Mahenge set, and that's a very valuable stone. Maybe she'll chime in about this.

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
It''s very normal.

If the vendor supplies the stone then they will normally cover the risk. If you supply the stone and something happens then it is your responsibility.

There are three ways to insure the stone:

a) See if the jeweller will insure it on their policy and just charge you the premium.