shape
carat
color
clarity

Insurance and appraisal

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ko

Rough_Rock
I stumbled upon pricescope only recently when researching for my e-ring. You guys are simply the best!
36.gif

I would greatly appreciate if anyone could answer my query.
The jeweller from the shop where I purchased my ring has offered to value the ring for me for the purposes of insurance, and he said that the valuation will be almost double what we paid for it.
Is it wise for me to let him value my ring or should I bring it elsewhere for independent valuation?
Many thanks!
35.gif

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi Ko and welcome!
35.gif
I am not an expert here, but I think it is usual that the valuation is normally a fair bit more than the purchase price. I am sure that there will be others who can answer this in much more detail - my diamonds are appraised for an amazingly large amount compared to the purchase price. Good to have you with us, I know you will enjoy PS!!!
31.gif

Also if you use the search tool at the top of the page and type in valuations, it will come up with tons of advice and info on the subject - which will help out until more people see your post.

perry

Ideal_Rock
Premium
It is my understanding that the better appraisers will typically value something at market price + 10 to 15% to handle inflation for the next couple of years.

Assigning a value of much greater than the market price is a form of fraud in my opinion, and indicates in my mind a dishonest jeweler. However, it does give the customers a false sense of value so they feel better about the price they paid.l

Keep in mind that your cost of insurance will be directly linked to the declared value. Thus, if the ring is valued at twice the cost - you will pay twice as much for insurance. Should you loose your ring (or other damage) the insurance will only pay for the cost of repair or replacement.