shape
carat
color
clarity

Ideas on what to do with my yellow sapphire?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

tigerhearted

Shiny_Rock
So this is my yellow sapphire ring! It has a lot of sentimental value, because my dad (who's now in the final stage of Alzheimer's) bought it for me when I was a baby and he was at a convention in Thailand, and it was given to me when I turned 18. It's my birthstone, and yellow wound up being my favorite color. Plus my dad is a Leo, and this golden yellow reminds me of a lion, so it's perfect. ;-)

I'm just beginning to learn about sapphires. I had it appraised a couple weeks back, here are the stats:

7.59 x 5.87 x 3.66
1.3ct (calculated)
Type II Eye-clean
Transparency -- no texture
Brilliance -- Good (50-70%)
GIA square color -- c_7_6_3_4 medium dark, very slightly brownish, orangey yellow (oY 6/3)
Moderate heat treatment
Proportions/Finish -- Poor (1 to 2) (pavilion main off-center)/Good (5 to 6)
Fluorescence -- Faint red lw-None sw

So I'm trying to decide what to do with it! The setting is not very great quality, the appraiser recommended it be re-set before wearing it because one of the prongs is in bad condition.

I'm not usually a fan of oval cuts, rounds and square-cushions are more my style. The cut seems to be poor, and I think there's a window...maybe I'm wrong? Should I look into having it re-cut? However, the size and the oval shape look good on my finger, and I'm hesitant to mess with it due to the sentimental value.