shape
carat
color
clarity

I got my first strand of whites

michellechan2211

Shiny_Rock
So I have been buying pearl jewellery for a good 7-8 years now, but I have never owned the classic white strand of pearls. I suspect part of it is that I am probably younger than most of the crowd and I feared that it would read too old, but now I actually have disposable income, I felt it was time to dip my toes in, so to speak. So I reached out to Takahashi to source something for me. Around 7-8mm, and while I didn't give a budget, I've worked with Yy previously and I trusted she knew what I looked for in terms of quality. At that time, Yy explained that there wasn't stock of strands in my specifications, so I told her to keep me in mind when things started arriving.

And a few weeks later, I got sent some pictures of a couple of strands.

Pearls_Takahashi.jpg Pearl_Takahashi_2.jpg

After this picture, I immediately preferred the top strand. I could see a difference in terms of contrastiness and I really do prefer strong pink, which I could see, so I pulled the trigger. Decided to send it to PSL because whyever not, I was curious, though Takahashi did warn that they couldn't guarantee that the strand would receive any sort of rating. However, Yy did mention that these were AAA quality.

And after a few weeks of resting at PSL, they are here! And they are just gorgeous. They really do look great on my hand (and on me). But then again, I know I have a fairly neutral undertone, so to be honest, almost any color works on me- its just a matter of personal preference.

20230603_221619(1).jpg 20230603_221759.jpg

They did come back as Rose. Clearly, the PSL folk see more flaws than I do (or are more picky than I am; but then again, they are paid to do this).
And of course, an obligatory neck shot (please forgive the t-shirt).

20230605_213837.jpg

And just for fun, I did a comparison against my kindasorta near round blue strand.

20230605_214024.jpg