shape
carat
color
clarity

How to deal with a B&M

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Tacori E-ring

Super_Ideal_Rock
I am very conflicted. Since I have already lost a melee once in my e-ring setting the idea of getting my e-band from a local B&M (probably the same where we bought my Tacori) is very attractive. I am even willing to pay a little more to have that peace of mind. Here''s my problem. While I like the salesman we deal with at the B&M he talks down to me and doesn''t always answer my questions. I am not saying I am a diamond expert but obviously I know the basics and maybe beyond (thanks to PS!). My FMIL was shocked that even after I used tech. terms he STILL acted like I was clueless. He got quotes for me on both our bands and while I think they are priced correctly he won''t tell me what quality of diamonds they will be using!?! Granted I didn''t press him since we were on the phone and rather investigate more in person. All he said is these will be the best diamonds I would ever have seen from him which basically means nothing. He also said melees are so cheap it is only a matter of $100 to upgrade the quality (is that true?). I just want to know what I am getting. So I guess I need advice to how to deal with him. I know he is not trying to cheat me. They are a smaller B&M and so far I have been very happy with their service. But as my FMIL pointed out, we are talking about thousands of dollars. I think knowing the details is the LEAST we should expect.

firebirdgold

Ideal_Rock
Ooh, that''s so annoying when they talk down to you!
29.gif
Well, it''s annoying if you''re actually trying to buy something, when you''re not it''s kinda entertaining.. but I''m warped from actually being a salesperson in a previous life.