shape
carat
color
clarity

Hoping for Some Advice on a Diamond

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

KLM14

Rough_Rock
I have been doing reserach for a diamond for the last two months. Unfortunately, I was depending heavily on Fred Cuellar''s book. Upon giving the details of what I wanted to a local diamond broker in town, they found two different stones. Both of these were dismissed as "warped" when I corresponded with the Diamond Guy.

Here is my last correspondence with him:

Q OK Fred, here we go. A follow-up to my last post. We have a new diamond to consider (beautiful!!). The readings are reportedly from a Sarin. 3.03 carat, E, VS1, Diam = 9.44-9.48,T Depth=60.6%, Crown Angle = 33.8 deg (33.5 - 34.3), Crown Height = 15.2% (14.9-15.6), Pavil Angle=40.4 deg (40.4-40.5),Pav Depth=42.3% (41.8-42.4), Culet=0.1%, Table Size=54.3% (53.8-54.8),Girdle=1.4% (1.0-1.7). GIA cert states EX polish, EX symmetry, Fluorescence=NONE A few questions: 1) Is this a Class I diamond? The min Crown angle (while OK to your specs) is below 34 degrees. Pav depth below 42.52%. The AGS guidelines (given by broker) show all AGS 0. 2) Girdle Thickness and Warping - Girdle is as stated above but picture included showed girdle measurement as 2.8%. If I do warp calc with 1.4%, we are shy. If we use 2.8%, we are OK. Is the girdle thickness halved or doubled? Why the difference between sarin calc and sarin picture? 3) Cost - $77,400. If I use your cost charts, this is roughly equal to cost indicated plus 15% (as indicated for a class I diamond). Good deal given above? or not class I and overpriced. Thanks, by the way, for sending your 5th edition. I appreciate it. KLM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------