shape
carat
color
clarity

help me set my aqua

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

vizsla

Brilliant_Rock
Hi- I hope you all can help me navigate thru the process of setting my aqua. I’m a total novice at this, and know that your help is invaluable to getting the right setting for my stone. I thought I should start with a clean slate since my ideas are all over the place.

First, the stats:
I purchased a beautiful cut corner/cushion aquamarine from peter torraca.

2.16c, 7.78x7.78x6.02.

The color is a wonderful light Caribbean water blue and it sparkles like crazy in the daylight. Even in my sock drawer, it shows off its color and life.
2.gif

The ring will symbolize the birth of our son this October, so I would like to have it completed before his arrival.

Setting budget is approx: $500 – which would include any upgrades on diamonds etc.

My current engagement ring(s) are actually 2 ½ eternity bands from facets. My wedding ring is a sapphire eternity band (another reason why I don’t know jack about settings and stones :razz:) I’m a fairly classic girl, but a good amount of bling is never a bad thing.

I would like this ring to clearly look like a right hand ring, and not an engagement ring – which is why I’m drawn to the settings that have a halo or a thicker band. In addition, I think the aqua would be “set off” that much more with some diamond friends.

I’ve been all over the map with settings… I like the twisted rope look (alas, no diamonds). I like a thicker,cigar band, look - but fear this would probably take away from the stone and look silly on my size 6 finger. I also like a classic halo/legacy look, but worry if this looks too much like an ER. And, finally,
3.gif
I like a split shank OR twisted band.