shape
carat
color
clarity

Had you ever held a weird job?

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I did this for 6 months in 1979. The fun part was helping customers with long distance phone calls from a pay phone. I would listen for how many (ding tones) as the customer was inserting the coins into the pay phone, 3 dings = a quarter, 2 dings = a dime and 1 ding = a nickel... :bigsmile:

1630654653737.png

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I worked in Finance, Investment Planning and at one stage I became a Complaints Resolution Manager. It was my favourite job and I was very very good at it. I cost the Company I was employed by hundreds of thousands of dollars as I investigated and laid bare any and all of the Company’s shortcomings and return precious investment dollars BACK to clients ie ordinary mums and dads.
After 12 months they “promoted me out” of that role and into Compliance and Training where I was then responsible for stopping Advisers giving incorrect advice from the outset.
Wasn’t much fun, those guys (99% men) were extremely arrogant and paid by commission. One particular one told me he earnt more in a month than I earnt in a year. When I busted him forging clients signatures (him being too lazy to send the paperwork out for client signature so he figured he could just sign for them) I told him I was better at my job than him and btw I still have mine.
Yep, he was sacked.

missy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
When I was in graduate school I was one of two TAs for Histology Lab. It was a great job and everyone wanted it but the professor chose me and my best friend to be his assistant. The pay was great (for being a student in 1985!) and it was a blast. Not weird per se but it was a coveted position that I didn't even apply for so in that way it was weird. And serendipitous too because it cemented my friendship with my closest friend Tom.

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium