shape
carat
color
clarity

Good evening! Newbie here....and an Amertine Q

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I have been reading these threads for a while. You all have some very interesting and beautiful pieces! A little about myself. I am a new gemstone collector, and I LOVE tanzanites. I have about 70cts of loose tanzies. I recently came across this one. It is a 75+ ct ametrine. I say + because I cant find a scale that will go above 75cts to get a true weight. It is a natural stone. The citrine color shifts 3 different times in the stone, and kind of makes a z when you look at it from the side. It also has a natural veil inclusion and another feather inclusion on the bottom of the stone. You cant really see it inless you are face up into it. The rest of the stone looks like glass. I just purchased it for a STEAL (6$) from a guy on ebay. He wasnt a dealer (or I would have assumed fake) but just a guy selling off the stuff in his house it looked like. He said he had it cut from a huge 200ct rough about 7 yrs ago. He gave me the cutters name and I called him and he remembered the stone. I put it in my refractometer and it is spot on for ametrine. At 1.548. The color change line isnt real sharp, also telling me its natural. (as you can see, I make sure I have real stones)
I have been researching Ametrines, and I cant find one this size in natural form. The highest I have gotten is 50ish cts.

What would you think the value of a stone like this would be? I usually deal with Tanzies, so I dont know much about these. Thank you in advance! I am sure you will see alot more of me!

KS12233333.JPG

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Here is another picture from the side...

KS122333.JPG

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
The other side...

KS12223.JPG

arjunajane

Ideal_Rock
Hi Tropicgal,

Welcome to PS and thankyou for sharing your photos
35.gif