shape
carat
color
clarity

GIA vs. EGL

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Incognito2

Rough_Rock
In looking at potential cushion stones....should I assume that an EGL H VS2 is the same quality as a GIA I SI1? I have read on the PS forums about the "lax" grading standards of the EGL stones, but is this true in every case? Any help would be greatly appreicated.

Rod

Ideal_Rock
Premium
EGL what? USA, Israel, Europe? It seems to make a difference. I am no expert, but from what I''ve learned, it is possible the grading report could be a bit more lax than AGS or GIA. For this reason, I chose to spend more and ensure my stone was GIA graded, if for no other reason than my own piece of mind. If you find a stone you really like that is EGL graded, it would proabably be wise to ship it to an appraiser for verification of the grading specs and to ensure you are getting what you paid for.

I''m sure the experts can offer better advice, but that''s my .02 worth..........

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
EGL USA is better than EGL Israel. But still soft in their grading. If you buy an EGL stone take it to an independent appraiser within the return period to be sure of what you are getting. But recently have heard better things about EGL USA. Good luck, HTH.
2.gif

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium