shape
carat
color
clarity

Freshwater Pearl Help!

Redwing39204

Rough_Rock
Good afternoon all,

I am in the process of purchasing a pearl strand and earrings for my wife and wanted to thank everyone for the information and opinions I learned from the forum here. Based on that information and some vendor photos I selected a strand of 7.5-8mm freshwater pearls and studs from a well-regarded vendor here in their top gem-grade.

They are a nice white silver color which I requested and seem to have nice luster to my untrained eye. However, they pearls themselves don’t appear as round or uniform in size as I expected from the description of the grade. Where the sizes vary they don’t seem to be in any progressive size order. This all may just be my ignorance but I wanted to seek any opinions more experienced pearl shoppers are willing to provide to ensure I get her the best I am able. I am also an engineer by training so my assessment of roundness may be too picky for a naturally created product!

I apologize for the photos. They look much nicer than this in person but I wanted to use the dark background to highlight the shapes/sizes.

I appreciate any thoughts you can provide. Thank you. 421540F8-BA6E-4594-9D9C-C19334A90C3C.jpeg

Attachments

• 38D6A817-51AE-4CEE-BD83-82F19D627399.jpeg
    38D6A817-51AE-4CEE-BD83-82F19D627399.jpeg
    402.9 KB · Views: 49
  • D7D9C497-FF22-4D42-B7A6-29B28A1EFCC0.jpeg
    D7D9C497-FF22-4D42-B7A6-29B28A1EFCC0.jpeg
    380.4 KB · Views: 47
Last edited:

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Gem grade may vary from one vendor to another. My Freshadamas from Pearl Paradise are pretty uniform and round compared to these ones. I think you could do better!

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Agree. Those pearls could be better graduated. It’s not an eyesore, but they could be better.