shape
carat
color
clarity

Fancy shape old cuts -- are they unusual?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

OldCutLover

Rough_Rock
Hi -- newbie here, but longtime lurker. I have the say that I think I''ve found diamond heaven right here on earth (if there is such a thing!), admiring all the many different styles of diamond jewelry here on this forum. I could spend all day just in Show Me The Ring!

I have been collecting antique diamond jewelry for a few years now, and will soon be in the possession of an old marquise cut ring of a bit over 2 carats, M color and VS2 clarity. I have never been a marquise fan, but when I saw a picture of this ring, I knew I had to have it.

I actually prefer warmer stones, but I think that color does show more in a fancy cut like this one. However, on to my question: How unusual are fancy cut old stones? I know I have rarely seen them on eBay, or even places like Fay Cullen (ah, Fay Cullen!) When were stones like the one I''m getting cut?

I welcome your knowledge.

widget

Ideal_Rock
Welcome, OldCutLover! You sound like a person after my own heart! We need more antique jewelry nuts around here!

Could you post pictures of your treasures? I hope so! It really is fun to share here in ''diamond heaven''...where there is such an appreciative audience. Most "normal" people out there don''t ''get it''...

I don''t know how rare old fancy cuts are, I haven''t seen many. Maybe Oldminer will respond.

I used to have an old pendant (my daughter-in-law has it now) that featured a pear-shaped rose-cut diamond. She thought it was glass until in told her it was a diamond!
9.gif

Again...welcome! And you must post pictures...it''s the law!!
2.gif

widget

belle

Super_Ideal_Rock
hello oldcutlover
35.gif
glad you decided to come out of lurkdom to post!
36.gif