shape
carat
color
clarity

Extinction in static photo - isnt it difficult to judge objectively?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

haagen_dazs

Brilliant_Rock
Hi all
I read about the caution to buy gemstones that do not have extinction.
However in a static photo where a stone may have some dark regions, isnt it harsh to say that those gemstones have extinction?

I read some threads where people comment that the stone has extinctions due to dark shadows in the stone in a single photo online.

Isn''t some obstruction or extinction a good thing as that helps in the patterning and contrast department ? (just like the arrows in a diamond when viewed face up)

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm not an expert but from buying coloured gemstones (which are a different animal to diamonds) it's all about colour. If a gemstone is cut and has extinction it blacks out the colour. Therefore not a good thing. Some gemstones have extinction BUT overall are lively and therefore can be forgiven but it's a personal thing. Some people won't accept any extinction. I will accept a small amount IF overall the gemstone's beauty isn't compromised and the gemstone is still beautiful and shows colour.

Edit: You may find this interesting. http://www.ruby-sapphire.com/brilliance_windows_extinction.htm

packrat

Super_Ideal_Rock
I think that''s why it''s qualified with "might". It is hard to tell just from a picture what a gem is going to look like. This is of course coming from my super vast knowledge and experience..of my 3 whole gems hahahahaha! However, my spinel, in the vendor pictures had black areas, and I almost didn''t even ask to have it sent to look at in person. I was told by the other CS''ers that it "could" be extinction, but the only way to tell was to see it myself, and ask the vendor.

I figured extinction would be to colored gems what a big black carbon spots would be to a diamond.

cellentani

Ideal_Rock