shape
carat
color
clarity

Do you take off your ring when someone wants to see it?

craighnt

Shiny_Rock
So I am new to wearing diamonds and since I am a guy, most of the other rings I wear are no big deal. But a few people have asked to look at my ring, then they ask me to take it off, is this normal? I don' t really mind, but I never see this being asked of brides or women, they usually just present the hand right? I'v been asked by both male and female friends to do this. It just seem weird, I have never asked anyone to take off their jewelery so I could try it on. I don't really care if its a friend, but what do you say to a total stranger at a party?

Skippy123

Super_Ideal_Rock
I would say no to a total stranger. To friends I do take it off and show them, also it is insured.

JewelFreak

Ideal_Rock
Depends on the situation. Sometimes I do, even for strangers if they're really interested. The cashier at my hairdresser recently went nuts for my blue spinel ring, & I took it off for her. If it's a crowded or hurried setting, I don't. For friends, only if they really care; mostly they don't (which is why I'm here!). Once in a rare while a friend will ask me to take it off; a stranger never has. I kind of take it as a compliment that they want to see it closer.

gregchang35

Ideal_Rock
Interesting question. It never has dawned on me to think about it. Generally friends and coworkers are the ones interested and I am happy to take them off for them to see. The only 'strangers' are the NW PS gtg that I was fortunate enough to attend earlier this year. But I guess in this kind of forum we are 'friends'.

I guess new ppl that I have met I would be cautious of taking the ring off.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I would only remove my jewellery for close friends, family, and PS GTGs, no one else.

missy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
If a friend/family or colleague asks I do.