shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond Shapes

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

RB2

Rough_Rock
Hello Everyone.

I am new to this and getting adjusted and soaking in the plethora of information on here. I am actually going to design a ring in platinum for my girlfriend, but really want to decide on a stone shape first. I like square shapes, but somewhat like round too. I really want it to sparkle and don't want a shape that will diminish that too much. Could anyone give me some information on these certain stones and their pros and cons in that respect. Thanks so much.

Asscher
Princess
Radiant
Cushion
Ol Miner
Hearts and Arrows (does this only come round?)
Round Brilliant
Jubilee

eks6426

Ideal_Rock
RB2--Welcome to the world of diamonds! Rather than go into details on the shapes you listed, I''m going to point you to GoodOldGold''s website. They do a fabulous job of explaining all the different shapes and showing samples. If you like the square shape but the brilliance of the rounds you might want to look at the Jubilee or Square Hearts & Arrows (both on the GOG site). Here''s the link:

http://www.goodoldgold.com/

Have fun and good luck!

dani13

Ideal_Rock
If you like square/round shapes, I would definitely check out cushions- imo, they include characteristics of both cuts, all while sparkling like crazy. Just try to stick with the more "modern" cushions- they tend to have more fire. As far as the other cuts, asschers have a certain look, like a pool of water- it is a step cut. Princesses are perfect squares, imo, with harsh lines. Radiants are pretty, but again, a certain look, looks like cracked ice. Dont know much about ole miners... Rounds are classic and pretty, can go wrong with this cut. What cut do you think your girlfriend would prefer???
Again, if you want sparkle, I would go with a round, modern cushion, or radiant.