shape
carat
color
clarity

confused about radiants

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.
I have been shopping for the "perfect" radiant cut for about 2 months. Last friday, I got a phone call from the jeweler I''ve been working with telling me that he had found the elusive 1A radiant I''d been looking for. I was sure that I''d finally found my diamond. But when I looked at it in the store next to the 2B radiant I''d seen before, the 1A didn''t look as nice. The 2B weighed the same and looked larger. To my unpracticed eyes, it also looked brighter. Is this possible?

The specs on the 1A are:

1.04 F VS2
6.30x5.03x3.12
62% depth
61% table
very good
very good
none
14.7% crown height

the specs on the 2B are:

1.03 F VS2
6.7x5.3x3.65
68.9% depth
67% table
good
good
none
10.1% crown height

The prices are about the same. I''m afraid to buy either one for fear of "messing up." Do any of the radiant experts out there have any advice?

icelady

Brilliant_Rock
Hi CAR,

Welcome to PriceScope and the world of Radiants!

I am a Radiant owner, and I love them! I am not an expert though.

I will take a guess at why the 2B may have looked better to you. The depth on the 2B Radiant may produce more fire than the 1A. I am surprised at the difference in length and width, except that the crown height may play a part in that. Maybe some of the experts can chime in. By the dimensions it is easy to see why the 2B looks larger too.

Now you know first hand why you need to actually see fancy cut diamonds, like Radiants, to know which one is for you!

Good luck with your search and please keep us posted!
9.gif

belle

Super_Ideal_Rock
what are the girdle sizes? the 1a may have a thick+ girdle and the 1b may have thin. this can make a difference in size.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Well, you saw the two diamonds, not anyone else.
2.gif