shape
carat
color
clarity

Can someone tell me if this is a good deal?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

doublek1229

Rough_Rock
I was looking at some rings for my girlfriends birthday she kind of likes unique jewelry. Anyway I saw this piece on EBay and was told I could have it for $375 shipped. Is this a good deal? I am not sure how rare the gem is or anything but it looks cool I thought. Here

Barrett

Ideal_Rock
seeems pretty good to me..I am not an opal expert though but looks nice

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am not an opal expert, but I wouldn't buy any opal with a closed back setting like that. It could be a doublet, triplet, or composite, and it's difficult to tell with a closed back. Now I could be entirely wrong, and some opal expert could look at that and say that's a typical real black opal, but that's just my opinion. I also prefer opals with some red in them, and not just blue and green. I think that the fact that it doesn't have any red keeps the price down if that is in fact a true black opal. It's also a rather small stone at 90 points, which also keeps the price down. Not all black opals are valuable.

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock
I am very much not an opal expert. But I believe that opals with red are the rarest and most valued. also the structure of the color play, eg. rolling flash, broad flash, harlequin...are considerations in value and general enjoyment of a piece. Does it flash from all angles and present a seemingly different arrangement of color and pattern as it moves through those angles? also a consideration is the shape of the top; is it flat, low dome high dome? A dome will usually have more roll or play at different angles than a flat top. Is it all crystal or is there matrix underneath. how thick is it?