shape
carat
color
clarity

Buying unheated Sapphires from internet

baum

Rough_Rock
Hello,
I am new to buying sapphires from the internet or in person. One internet dealer has an option where you can deposit 50% of the value of the stones and they will send you three stones to look at. After you pick the one you like you can return the others and your credit card will be credited. Does anyone have experience with this process? I am a little apprehensive, but the online the stones look nice and very reasonably priced compared to retail shops. Any advise will be appreciated.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ed,
It seems like the deposit is done via credit card.

Baum,
Have you checked the credibility of this vendor? Is there any restocking fee or shipping & handling fee or other hidden fees? How long do you get to review the stones? In short, how are the policies of the vendor? Do the stones come with any proof or certification from a lab that the stones are indeed untreated? What lab is it?

baum

Rough_Rock
Hello,

The deposit is made via a credit card and there supposedly is no shipping and handling charge when looking at the stones. They have certificates for the Sapphires from RGL, UGL, ZG, and GIA that indicate that there is no indication of heat treatment. I don't know if these certificates are from independent labs or not. The Better Business Bureau gave them an A+. I have not found any horrible reviews on them on the web, but very little reviews. They have a 90 day return quality assurance policy. But I don't know if the quality of the stones are on par with what retail jewelers sell at 2x the cost.. The internet company seems to charge about $1000 per Carat for what looks pretty nice on the web nice deep/royal blue colors that they say are from Cylon or Sri Lanka. The reason for my trepidation is that someone said that there are internet scams where the dealer claims that the stone was not placed in the box when it was sent and takes your deposit.