shape
carat
color
clarity

Buying diamonds in Dubai

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Yorky

Rough_Rock
I am going to Dubai next week on holiday and was told that its much cheaper to buy diamonds over there than in the UK. Is this right and does anybody have any advice for me as regards how to haggle and where to go! My main worry is that I will get completely ripped off. Is there a general rule as to how much you should drop the salesmans price by (for instance they say a price and I say 1/3 less?)? I am a complete novice and any advice will be very welcome.

Thankyou

adamasgem

Brilliant_Rock
Date: 3/28/2006 12:20:09 PM
Author:Yorky
I am going to Dubai next week on holiday and was told that its much cheaper to buy diamonds over there than in the UK. Is this right and does anybody have any advice for me as regards how to haggle and where to go! My main worry is that I will get completely ripped off. Is there a general rule as to how much you should drop the salesmans price by (for instance they say a price and I say 1/3 less?)? I am a complete novice and any advice will be very welcome.

Thankyou
Having been there on business, I seriously say that you have a much greater chance of getting ripped off there, then buying from one of the Pricescope vendors. Haggling is a way of life, and kickbacks to stay in business are a way of life.

The government has a testing laboratory there which mainly "certifies" gold content, but is expanding into diamonds, and I believe there are AGS and GIA papered stones (becuse of takein windows), since more stones are being graded over there.
The Gold Souk is very interesting.. Sort of the wild west in gold.

But remember, if you get taken, you have little if no recourse, like you might have by purchasing in the states.

If you are from the UK, then the UK VAT is another issue for you on importation.

linvillegorge

Rough_Rock