shape
carat
color
clarity

Appraisal Procedures

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sukiisukii

Shiny_Rock
Hi Everyone,

I am new to pricescope and my very first post was to annouce that I am a newly engaged lucky lady
30.gif

My fiance (sigh... that gives me butterflies) purchased a ring from Blue Nile and it is gorgeous. It is 1.02 ct/F/VVS2 Radiant Cut on a platinum setting. The diamond was GIA certified and came with an appraisal from a gemologist from Blue Nile. The ring was purchased for a little over $7000, but their appraisal was for $11000. Chubb stated that we can get it reappraised so we can get better premiums. I work for a jewelry manufacture company and had the gemologist in our company appraise my ring. But my question is here, they asked for the receipt from Blue Nile which had the setting specifications and the GIA report but not for my RING?! And according to the paperwork and the Rapaport book, the appraiser appraised the ring for $8175.

Now... is this standard procedure?!! How does one appraise a ring without seeing the ring? I am considering bringing the ring for more elaborate evaluation but I don''t know where to go and whose trustworthy and whether this is necessary.

How does a ring get "appraised" and why such a big difference in appraisal value?

I am new to the forum, and I apologize if this topic has been discussed in previous threads. Any advice would be great! Thanks in advance.

Best,

Sukiisukii

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
Appraising an item without seeing it is a serious snafu. RockDoc will probably come along and tell us the legalities of it. It ain't pretty, I'm sure.

By not seeing the item the appraiser can not even verify that the diamond is the same as that described in the documentation supplied to him. For all he knows, it could be a cubic zirconia!