shape
carat
color
clarity

Anyone else have an opinion on this big diamond, please?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Christy42

Shiny_Rock

Princess cuts are going to be the death of me but I love them! PLease give me your valuable advice. What do you think of this one? Here are the stats:

2.51 Carats
depth: 64.8%
Table: 74%
P&S VG, VG
Clarity: VS2
Color: F
Culet:none
Girdle: Ex thin to medium
Meas: 7.93 x 7.78 x 5.04

Thanks!

phoenixgirl

Ideal_Rock
An extremely thin girdle is not good . . . might lead to chipping.

icelady

Brilliant_Rock
Christy,

I am not an expert, but I feel the same as Phoenixgirl. The ''extremely thin'' girdle is cause for alarm on a Princess cut, especially if it is extremely thin around the pointed corners as they may be more susceptible to breaking.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's big allright... and you surely left one or two grades for safety between this one and any shade of color or visible inclusions
2.gif

I wish there was some information on brilliance - otherwise what's the good of that cut anyway ?

If you fall in love with this one, it may be a good idea to have the seller set it (if anyone else sets it and the thin girdle gets chipped, tere's more hassle to cover the damage). Afterwars... it will be insured anyway.

Princess cuts are not cut to optimmize optics (not often that is) - so if this is one happy exception there might not be too many to choose from.

Just IMO, as usual
34.gif

Christy42

Shiny_Rock
I was worried about that girdle too. It is already insured, the seller is going to mount it and I can still return it or trade in. I did in fact have a hard time finding a stone that "looked" like it was the size it was supposed to be. Their depth is usually so dramatic that the stone doesn''t face up well. It is actually a beautiful stone and I am going to make it a point to discuss this with them on Tuesday( about the girdle).