shape
carat
color
clarity

Anybody know the answer?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ok, you know you''re obsessed by gemstones when you wake up with a question about them you NEED answering! So .....

Question:

Natural sapphires will sometimes shift in colour (pink/purple teal/violet etc etc). However, do BE diffused sapphires shift in colour also?

My thinking is that if you take a natural sapphire (that was a colour shifter) and bombarded it with diffusion you are essentially impregnating a colour - does this mean it will stop the sapphire from shifting because the colouration alters the properties of the sapphire?

or

Will the sapphire still shift despite the treatment because it''s the natural way that it responds to light?

zeolite

Brilliant_Rock

Keep in mind the following answer is theoretical; I have no actual experience in this specific question. However, as a physicist, I have a very strong educational and work experience in optics, plus a gemology degree.

The main criteria for a color changing stone, is that when it is viewed both in light high in blue (daylight) and also light high in red (incandescent – light bulb), that it MUST have an absorption band in the yellow region. This explanation was given to me in person by Dr. Jim Shigley, then head of GIA research department.

Since daylight has less red, and the yellow region is blocked, the gem looks more blue or green. When the same gem is viewed in incandescent light, which has less blue, and yellow is blocked, the gem appears more orange or red. The yellow blocking region is created by trace metals, vanadium and/or iron.

So there are two parts to the answer to your question. If the sapphire, before the BE diffusion, did not have the color changing yellow absorption band, the BE treatment would have no effect. It would not suddenly become a color changing gem.