shape
carat
color
clarity

anybody know how to sew?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

diamondsrock

Brilliant_Rock
I have been needing curtains for my dining room for three years now and finally went to look at some at the store. They are expensive and they don''t even match!! So I went out today with my mother in law to buy fabric and she is going to make me some. I bought all the fabric for about $23 for four valances. I''m thinking making your own curtains, etc. is the way to go. Too bad I don''t know how to sew and I have no time! Does anyone else make their own stuff or do you always buy pre made? Or even better pay someone to make them for you?

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
I know that belle knows how to sew, maybe she can give you some tips. Good luck!!!

diamondlil

Ideal_Rock
Yes, Diamondsrock, I sew and have about 30 years experience. I grew up in the 4-H club. As an adult, I owned an interior decorating business (before kids). I''ve made all my own draperies, swags, etc., but for my business, I mainly used a local workroom. I don''t have as much fun sewing for others as I do for myself. Actually, I''ve been home today working on costumes for my daughters dance studio. Their annual production of The Nutcracker is the first weekend in December, and during costume distribution, I accidentally admitted that I could sew. Next thing I knew, I had 3 party dressed and 8 soldier hats handed over for alterations/ribbons/flowers.
6.gif

Anyway, you can save some money sewing your own window treatments. If you are making simple valances for your windows, I think it is even doable for a beginner. Having a mom (or MIL) that can sew is even better.

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium